December 20th – Which books would the Advent authors like to find under the Christmas tree?

I asked six authors what book they would like to see wrapped up under their Christmas tree this year and here’s what they said. . .

 

Marcie Steele  

I loved The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary so much that I’m looking forward to her new book, The Switch. I’d love to read that over the Christmas break, but sadly it isn’t out until April next year.  

The Switch by Beth O’Leary

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She’d like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn’t offer many eligible gentlemen.

Once Leena learns of Eileen’s romantic predicament, she proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love. Meanwhile Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire. But stepping into one another’s shoes proves more difficult than either of them expected.

 

KIRSTY GREENWOOD

That’s a tough one! I always request one of the Coralie Bickford-Smith designed Penguin Classics on my Christmas List so I’d love another one of those to add to my collection. I have lots of friend’s books to read over the holidays so I’ll be in a heavenly book stupor.

The Song of The Tree by Coralie Bickford-Smith  (Out March 2020)

Bird loves to sing in the towering tree at the heart of the jungle. It feels like home. When the season changes she must say goodbye, but she isn’t ready to let go. As she listens to the other animals, Bird learns to sing a new song.

 

Lorna Cook

I’m such a loyal Lucinda Riley fan and I’ve yet to blitz the vast majority of her amazing Seven Sisters series so I’ll say her latest, The Sun Sister. In hardback please.

The Sun Sister by Lucinda Riley 

To the outside world, Electra D’Aplièse seems to be the woman with everything: as one of the world’s top models, she is beautiful, rich and famous.

Yet beneath the veneer, Electra’s already tenuous control over her state of mind has been rocked by the death of her father, Pa Salt, the elusive billionaire who adopted his six daughters from across the globe. Struggling to cope, she turns to alcohol and drugs. As those around her fear for her health, Electra receives a letter from a complete stranger who claims to be her grandmother . . .

 

EMMA MITCHELL

I used to have an old copy (nothing worth any money, but a lovely, well-thumbed copy of Little Women, which is one of my all time favourite reads, and it went missing during a house move years ago. I’d love a new old copy! If that makes sense?!

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Christmas won’t be the same this year for Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy, as their father is away fighting in the Civil War, and the family has fallen on hard times. But although they may be poor, life for the four March sisters is rich with colour, as they play games, put on wild theatricals, make new friends, argue, grapple with their vices, learn from their mistakes, nurse each other through sickness and disappointments, and get into all sorts of trouble.

 

HOLLY MARTIN

The Neverending Story. I used to love this film when I was a child and I had no idea it was a book until I found it in my university library one time. I didn’t take it out at the time as I had a ton of books I’d just taken out for my course. And when I went back to find it later, it was never there, so it eluded me.

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

Small and insignificant Bastian Balthazar Bux is nobody’s idea of a hero, least of all his own. Through the pages of an old book he discovers a mysterious world of enchantment – but a world that is falling into decay. The great task of making things well again falls on Bastian and so begins a dazzling, magical adventure.

 

CLARE MACKINTOSH

I’d like a copy of The Salt Path, by Raynor Winn. I’ve been meaning to read it for absolutely ages, and have heard such great things about it.

The Salt Path by Raynor Winn

Just days after Raynor learns that Moth, her husband of 32 years, is terminally ill, their home is taken away and they lose their livelihood. With nothing left and little time, they make the brave and impulsive decision to walk the 630 miles of the sea-swept South West Coast Path, from Somerset to Dorset, via Devon and Cornwall.

Carrying only the essentials for survival on their backs, they live wild in the ancient, weathered landscape of cliffs, sea and sky. Yet through every step, every encounter and every test along the way, their walk becomes a remarkable journey.

 

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: